The Conspirituality Report

The New Age / Medieval Mortifications of Jordan Peterson

Matthew Remski
8 min readJun 7, 2021

Purifying through sweat, ablutions, and distance walking

Peterson in 2018. Gage Skidmore, Wiki Commons.

In a recent interview with evolutionary biologist Bret Weinstein for his podcast, Jordan Peterson spoke of how difficult it has been to recover from an ordeal of health crises and family stresses.

“I can hardly stand up when I wake up in the morning,” he said. “I feel so bad I can’t believe I can be alive and feel that bad.”

In April of 2019, Peterson’s wife of thirty-one years, Tammy, was diagnosed with aggressive kidney cancer. By September, the 56 year-old self-help professor had cancelled his engagements and checked into rehab for benzodiazepine addiction. The next long months flipped his global speaking-tour travels into a wild goose-chase for boutique medical care to treat his withdrawal disease, which peaked with akathisia, an unbearable shaking disorder known to users of anti-psychotics who taper their medication too quickly. Doctors in a Russian clinic put him into a medically-induced coma for eight days. Later, he contracted COVID-19 in a clinic in Serbia.

On the podcast, Peterson described his current daily regime.

“I can hardly stand up when I wake up in the morning. I feel so bad I can’t believe I can be alive…

--

--